deciding to homeschool

Picture 002So, you’re thinking about educating your children at home. It’s a big decision. There are some steps you can take to determine if homeschooling is right for your family.

Pray ~ It is a remarkable commitment.

Investigate ~ Seek out friends who homeschool, and look for groups in your area. There are plenty of home school moms who I’m sure will be happy to talk with you, too.

Read ~ Educate yourself first.

The following are some of my favorite books and websites for learning about home education.

  • The Well-Trained Mind: A Guide to Classical Education at Home ~ Bauer
  • For the Children’s Sake: Foundations of Education for Home and School ~ Macaulay
  • So You’re Thinking About Homeschooling ~ Welchel
  • Educating the WholeHearted Child ~ Clarkson

http://www.hslda.org/

http://homeschoolenrichment.com/ (great magazine and I’ve even written a couple of articles for it)

Question ~ Finally, think on these things.

  1. Why am I considering teaching my children at home?
  2. What are some books about home schooling I can read?
  3. Do I need to do all the teaching, or should I look into tutoring or classes?
  4. Do you enjoy spending time together as a family?
  5. Do you have a love for reading and learning?
2 thoughts on “deciding to homeschool

  1. The Well-Trained Mind is an excellent resource, although I didn’t discover it until after my children had graduated from homeschooled high school.

    To your counsel I would add:

    Don’t wait until life is perfect to start homeschooling, and don’t quit homeschooling because life stops being perfect. I credit my long-term commitment to homeschooling with getting me and my children through many of the most challenging crises known to families.

    Don’t get hung up on following a published curriculum series. Choose the individual learning resources that best meet your own children’s needs. My success and effectiveness were due to a relaxed, eclectic approach that followed my children’s development as self-directed learners.

    Don’t listen to critics. Someday, your children will thank you, and they will go on to earn honors degrees at high-ranking colleges and universities, and/or establish rewarding careers (mine did).

    Best wishes to you and your readership!

    Like

Leave a Reply

