summer reading list

942384_508144865923732_1737032538_nMy best memories of summer were visiting my aunt, uncle, and cousins in Michigan. My Uncle Tom was one of my favorite people in the world, so spending time with him was wonderful. And, I had a cousin my age, and we had so much fun together. And, they had a small town and old house that was everything I dreamed of. I thought this was truly a magical place. But, getting there involved a long road trip, so I would get to indulge in another love ~ reading. The librarian would let me check out extra books and keep them for a longer time for our trip. Happy dance! Ok, so for me, still one of the best things about summer is time to READ!! All those books I set aside on the busy days during the school year, I finally have time to enjoy.

Here is a list of books, some favorites from my childhood and some from my own children and students, for your kids to get lost in this summer:

  • The Littles 3.3 ~ Peterson
  • Because of Winn-Dixie 3.9 ~ DiCamillo
  • Boxcar Children 3.9 ~ Warner
  • Encyclopedia Brown 3.9 ~ Sobol
  • Harriet the Spy 4.5 ~ Fitzhugh
  • Beezus and Ramona 4.8 ~ Cleary
  • Charlotte’s Web 4.9 ~ White
  • The Mouse and the Motorcycle 5.1 ~ Cleary
  • The Old Man and the Sea 5.1 ~ Hemingway
  • The Trumpet of the Swan 5.1 ~ White
  • The Tower Treasure, Hardy Boys 5.3 ~ Dixon
  • Socks 5.4 ~ Cleary
  • The Chronicles of Narnia (series 5.4-5.7) ~ Lewis
  • Eragon 5.6 ~ Paolini
  • Harry Potter (series 5.5-7.2) ~ Rowling
  • A Wrinkle in Time 5.8 ~ L’Engle
  • Owls in the Family 5.9 ~ Mowat
  • The Adventures of Tom Sawyer 5.9 ~ Twain
  • The Borrowers 5.9 ~ Norton
  • The Cricket in Times Square 5.9 ~ Selden
  • Anne of Green Gables 5.9 ~ Montgomery
  • The Lion, the Witch, & the Wardrobe 6.1 ~ Lewis
  • The Lord of the Rings (series 6.1-6.3) ~ Tolkien
  • Christy 6.2 ~ Marshall
  • The Hobbit 6.6 ~ Tolkien
  • My Side of the Mountain 6.7 ~ George
  • Gone with the Wind 7.1 ~ Mitchell
  • Homer Price 7.3 ~ McCloskey
  • Anne of Green Gables 7.3 ~ Montgomery
  • Little Women 7.4 ~ Alcott
  • To Kill a Mockingbird 8.1 ~ Lee
  • The Swiss Family Robinson 8.9 ~ Wyss
  • Around the World in Eighty Days 9.6 ~ Verne
  • Pride and Prejudice 12.0 ~ Austen
Leave a Reply

