summer reading

51fGhOk4bLLSummer is winding down. This is always a bittersweet time of year. Sad because the busyness of the school year will soon begin again, but happy because I love teaching! Sad because our youngest goes back to college in three weeks, but happy because we get to visit Gainesville! I think fall has always been my favorite time of year, but one great thing about summer is a lot more time to read. I have spent this summer rereading a series I just love –The Mitford books by Jan Karon. They are light and funny, and at times they even speak profound truths. I have also read some children’s books for a book club I was leading. Next on the list is the book by Harper Lee that was just published, Go Set a Watchman. I have to admit that I approach this book with a tiny bit of fear. To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my all time favorite books, and I am somehow afraid that this book won’t measure up. A friend I was visiting with this week expressed the same concern. Sometimes, a book becomes a part of us, and we don’t want that messed with! Anyway, now in those last few weeks of summer I am going to read it. We’ll see how it goes! What are you and your kids reading this summer?

Leave a Reply

